The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Rest Day? Rest Day.

on March 18, 2013

So, when I Googled “nap time gif”, this was like the first thing that popped up and I thought it was just too darn cute not to use! I mean, its Pooh! Anyway, today’s post is going to be a bit of a weird one, because its going to be relatively picture free, and really more long and rambly.

So, I’ve been at the gym, like, five days in a row so far this week, and Mark and I have our free-for-joining training session tomorrow, so I’m taking today as a rest day. And I bring all this up because it’s something I was kind of asking Mark about last night and he and I couldn’t really come to a consensus on…taking a rest day when you don’t feel like you need it.

Now, I know that there are a lot of people out there who can and do work out six days in a row with one rest day, and they do so with no problem. But, for me, I’ve had a notorious history of overloading in a kind of, like, onslaught of workout euphoria and I end up injured or totally burnt out. I’m determined not to let that happen this time around, so I’ve been extra conscious to take rest days, foam roll, get good sleep, drink lots of yummy water, and let my body repair. And since we joined the gym last week, I’ve often been going more than once a day, usually so I can go with Mark before he has to go to work, and then later to take my time with toning. So I know I’m “due” for a rest day, so I’m taking one. Other than a trip to Best Buy this morning to exchange my new phone (the camera started to crap out already…boo…) and working later tonight (a short four hours) I’m doing literally nothing today. The weather is warming up outside, so I’m planning on spending lots of time in this

20130318_111635

drinking one of these

20130318_134357

but even though I know that my body needs to rest, I’m struggling – because I don’t feel like I need a rest, if that make sense. I feel that if I decided to go to the gym today, I’d be fine. Am I babying myself to much in an effort to head injury off at the pass? Or am I playing it smart by playing it safe? I guess at the end of the day I’d rather lean towards playing it safe and giving myself the time to recoup, but it’s an odd feeling none-the-less. I’m hoping it’s a good thing that means I’m getting stronger! I’m SUPER excited for Mark and I’s training session tomorrow (full update and pictures tomorrow, if I can convince Mark it’s not totally insane to take pictures of me through a work out) because it’s actually the first time I’ve ever worked with a personal trainer, and the first time I’ve ever felt fit enough that I’m not embarrassed to show up! Mark and I both agree that it’ll be easier to do it together, and hopefully it’ll just make the time fly by!

I just want to give shout-outs to some of the AMAZING lady runner’s out there in the blog world who, this past weekend, ran some awesome races with some awesome results! SkinnyRunner, Monica at Run, Eat, Repeat, and Kristin at STUFT Mama all ran the LA Marathon, and kicked ass – Monica and Kristin even made PRs! Meghann at Meals and Miles ran the First Watch Sarasota Half Marathon and got one baller dolphin medal. Julie of Peanut Butter Fingers (along with her husband Ryan) looked like they had a great time running the Jacksonville St. Patrick’s Day 10-K, and I must say they looked damn fashionable in their holiday-appropriate running attire! Great job to all the amazing running ladies who stomped it this weekend!

Do you ever feel restless on your rest days? What’d you do for you St. Paddy’s day? Coolest marathon you’ve ran (or want to run?)

4 responses to “Rest Day? Rest Day.

  1. Janie says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I think it’s great that you and your husband are on this journey to be healthier and to work out consistently. Staying active, eating healthy, and exercising is a huge part of my life too and I definitely understand your struggle with taking a rest day when you don’t feel like you need to rest. It’s also easy to feel guilty about not working out.

    However, rest days are pivotal to staying healthy and active. They allow your muscles to repair and recover (preventing you from injury, which would keep you from working out even longer) and for me personally, keeps me from being too neurotic about working out. Remember that taking a rest day doesn’t mean you have to refrain from being active. I really enjoy taking walks or cleaning the house on those rest days.

    Hope this helps!

    • Chelsea says:

      Thanks, Janie! Its great to hear from you! What you said TOTALLY helped, especially the part about a rest day not equaling no activity at all! I may have creeped a bit on your St. Paddys Day race pictures, and it looked like you had a blast! Love having you read and hopefully you’ll stop by again soon.

  2. olivetorun says:

    I ran Richmond Marathon and I LOVED it. I’m doing Pittsburgh in May and am excited about it and I’m crossing my fingers for Marine Corps in October 😀

    • Chelsea says:

      Oh my goodness, the Marine Corps marathon?! That sounds INTENSE! Not that all marathons don’t, but still… 🙂

      Those are some awesome and quite impressive goal – you go girl! Lol

Leave a Reply

