The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

I Had a Some Catchy Titles…

on March 21, 2013

…and then I decided to take a shower directly after the gym instead of writing this post, and now they’re all gone. lol. Does that ever happen to anyone else? I mean, it doesn’t always happen this way, but every now and then I feel like I come down with “gym brain” and for a good 45 minutes after a work out, I’m just not ready to think of much beyond, you know, ‘inhale oxygen; exhale carbon dioxide’. Which is probably a super great mental state to be writing a public blog post in!

20130321_210803

As you guys might remember from yesterday/this morning, I wasn’t originally planning on hitting up the gym today. I was going to take it as another rest day on my knee in preparation for the class I’m taking this weekend with my friend Ashley. That was until Mark, in an effort to do something nice for the both of us and take the stress out of a kind of awkward dinner-time-work-shuffle (we both went in at 1:30, I was off at 6:00, he was supposed to be off at 6:15 but didn’t get off a late call until closer to 6:30) by stopping by the Jack-in-the-Box that is RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET FROM OUR HOUSE. SIDE NOTE: Why does city planning do this to me? Within walking distance of my front door is a McDonals, a Jack-in-the-Box, a Taco Bueno, an Asian Pearl Chinese buffet, and, coming soon, a Dunkin’ Doughnuts. SERIOUSLY. We need to pick a way less tempting place to live when our lease is up 😛 (yes, I realize that it’s completely our decision, but still. You try going on a morning run to the smell of McDonalds french fries and fracking doughnuts). Anyway! I just was not down to sit with all that fast food on my stomach for the night, so gym it was!

I originally stole this HARD AS BALLZ WITH A ‘Z’ routine from Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers, but in an effort to still keep my knee in mind, I ended up modifying things until the workout looked like this:

Not Quite PBF Circut

I did the entire circuit three times through, resting when I needed to (and often splitting up those darn burpees and mountain climbers in to multiple sets!), and did the entire kit and caboodle in just over 30 minutes (about 32, to be anal precise). Then it was on to the elliptical for 25 minutes to keep it low impact, and then on to home – sweaty, shiny, and feeling like it was way worth it. I’m not going to lie – it was a bit hard to get through the circuit because its been a long time since I did a circuit workout just me, with no class or teacher around to plan the damn thing and then make sure I follow through. But it sure was a great workout, so thanks Julie for doing, like, 99% of the work on that one!

LUCKILY, our change in dinner plans won’t deprive you of that amazing recipe I promised you all! With spring officially here (although someone please tell that to the forecast for the rest of the week, which basically calls for nothing but snow) so is my crazy desire for all things lemon! Mark and I are basically on the eternal search for the perfect lemon dessert, and while I don’t think that the search is over (the perfect bars remain elusive) I do think that these are some pretty damn good lemon cookies – yellow, chewy in the middle, and dusted in powdered sugar!

20130321_215503

The best part? The bulk of the work is done for you – lemon cake mix to the rescue! We found this recipe in a mailer we got from Allrecipes.com, and as random as it was, we’re glad it came because these are DELICIOUS!

Ingredients

1 (18.25 oz) package lemon cake mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup veggie oil (I didn’t, but I’m sure you could sub coconut oil)
1 teaspoon lemon extract (we made them with 3 tbs lemon juice, and thought they were just the right amount of lemon, but I like my lemon flavor strong, so plan accordingly)
1/3 cup confectioners sugar

Directions
1.) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F

2.) Pour cake mix into a large bow. Stir in eggs, oil, and lemon extract until well combined. Drop teaspoonfuls of dough into a bowl of confectioners’ sugar. Roll them around until they’re lightly covered. Once sugared, put them on an ungreased cookie sheet.

3.)Bake for 6 to 9 minutes (Mark and I did ours at 10) in preheated oven. The bottoms will be lightly brown and the insides chewy.

And the best part? If you legit make them, like, a teaspoon big, you’ll get 50 cookies out of each box. 50 tiny, delicious, about 70 calorie cookies, depending on the cake mix you use. I made mine bigger than that because I was running short on time to make 50 teaspoon sized cookies, but nonetheless. Lemon cookies just in time for spring? Total score!

What’s your “spring food”? Favorite cookie? What’s your family got going on for the upcoming Easter/Passover holiday?

Leave a Reply

