The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Oh, Kosama

on March 23, 2013

20130323_093515

Guess what I did this morning? 🙂

20130323_094751

I dragged my sorry, Zumba sore butt out of bed at the crack of dawn (okay, it was like 8:00am) this morning for a date with those bad boy kettlebells. As I’ve been talking about ad naseum, my friend/classmate Ashley invited me to come to “try a friend week” at Kosama, a local studio specializing in full-body toning using circuit-style training and toning tools ranging from kettlebells (obvs) to TRX suspension trainers and good, old-fashioned body weight training.

Let me tell you, this baby was tough! I got to the studio about ten minutes early to sign a waiver and get all the stuff I needed for class set up and ready to go! After that was done, I waited for Ashley to arrive and we got a few minutes to play catch-up before the class started! While waiting for Ashley, I managed to snag a few more pictures

20130323_093502

20130323_094802

And, since she was given fair warning that this would turn up here on the blog, here’s the lady responsible for all this madness to begin with!

20130323_094848

The class started off with a dynamic warm up and some stretching before launching us in to a full kettlebell routine – TONS of lunges and squats, and all my old-school weight lifting favorites, like dead lifts, cross-chest bicep curls, chest presses, and tricep kickbacks. We would alternate one lower-body intensive moves with upper-body, a minute each. There was one water break, but honestly, the instructor did a great job making it clear that if at any point in time we needed a break and a drink, we were more than welcome to take some. The best thing, though, was finding some new moves that I’m super excited to incorporate in to my own gym time – kettlebell hot potato, wave squats, figure eights, and three-way lunges! 😀

LET ME TELL YOU – OH MY GOODNESS MY LEGS. It was killer! Seriously, I feel like as soon as my back was screaming from dead lifts my legs were screaming LOUDER because, here we go! More lunges. I was warned by a couple of friends in the area who also attend Kosama that a loss of mobility may be expected (exact quote: “I couldn’t walk for a week”) so I can’t say I’m entirely surprised, but still. That doesn’t keep me from feeling it now!

It really was a great workout, and I’m so glad that both Ashley and I ended up showing up! We both admitted that we considered sleeping in, but couldn’t not show with the other one coming (alert: this is why its awesome to have a workout buddy). Now that I’m home and sore, the only thing I can think about is some massive breakfast. Bacon, anyone?

PS: For those who care, that outfit I’m wearing above is one of the ones I mentioned getting at Wal-Mart yesterday!

20130323_085141

As you can tell, I went a little crazy for the spring colors (also, the lighting in my bathroom is atrocious. Sorry about that!)

Leave a Reply

