The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

A Happy Birthday to My Love

on March 25, 2013

20130325_173547

Guess which lucky birthday boy got to come home early from work (they’ve been super dead because of the snow these past few days)?! As you can see, he wasted no time relaxing into birthday mode, and good for him 😉

Nothing says happy birthday like some of your absolute favorite Easter candy (he’s lucky his birthday is always a week before the holiday, so the pickings are prime). While I was at the store, I made sure to pick up two of his absolute favorites

20130325_173714

20130325_173704

Those things are about 1,000,000,000 times better than regular jelly beans, and I dare you to defy me. They share Mark and I’s second favorite spot (his top spot goes to Peeps, obvs, which I think is crazy because hello, Reese’s egg. And, lest you think that this is the only treat Mark will be getting, rest assured that he’s got quite the goodies coming his way tomorrow (tacos, gifts, and cake). Anyone care to guess what cake will be lucky enough to grace all our plates tomorrow?

20130325_163251

 

Anyway, in an internet celebration of the love of my life, I just wanted to get all mushy and say that I don’t think I could imagine a better man to have married, a better partner to spend the rest of my life with. He takes amazing care of me, makes me laugh every. single. day., and puts up with every last crazy thing I do (this blog and constantly taking pictures of food and strangers being just a few of those things). He’s a strong, smart, determined man who every day grows more and more a better husband and man. He loves God, he loves me, and he loves the internet, all of which put him pretty high in my book 😉 I hope that he has an amazing 25th year on this Earth, and I’m excited to see what adventures come our way.

Now that that’s done, how about a few pictures of meat? We were going to have pasta tonight, but in celebration of Mark’s birthday and him being off early, we decided to go a much more all-American route

20130325_200835

IMG_20130325_161436

20130325_202622

Bacon-wrapped fillet, twice-baked potato, and oven-roasted asparagus. It really doesn’t get much better than that. And that, my dears, is how Mark and I spent his 25th birthday. We’ll be spending the rest of the night watching Bones, snacking on Peeps, and enjoying one (or two…or three) of some delectable whiskey sours

IMG_20130325_202125

How are you winding down your Monday? What’s your favorite birthday meal?

Leave a Reply

