The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Conquering the day

on April 2, 2013

20130402_150523

That is the look of one nervous puppy!

After I talked to you guys last, Mark and I headed up to the gym after a quick breakfast. He did the next run in his Couch 2-5K program, and I, as you probably know, hit up my trusty nooner Zumba class πŸ™‚ After that wonderful sweat sesh, it was off to the bank and then by HyVee to pick up the stuff for lunch!

The most eventful portion of the day? My mini-emotinoal meltdown in HyVee that was a combination of the fact that I was being asked to choose what kind of cheese we wanted (the nerve, right? lol) and the fact that my blood sugar was crashing.Β Is this something that happens to you guys? It happens to me more often than I’d like to admit, but ever since I was little I would turn in to a wild, cranky, bratty person every time I got super hungry and my blood sugar crashed. It’s a family thing – the worst my sister and I would get in to it is when we were hungry/tired/hangry. I try to be really good about it and keep snacks on hand and recognize the signs of the crash before it comes so that I can, you know, clear all women and children from the immediate area. But sometimes, like today, I don’t get it taken care of in time and I turn in to a freaking Medea in the store. It’s horrible for Mark on a number of levels, and I just feel very blessed to have such an awesome guy who loves me in spite of the fact that I’m, you know, certifiable from time to time. πŸ˜‰

After the brief meltdown and our delicious turkey/pepperjack/Italian bread paninis (during which we both rejoiced that we’ve never gotten rid of our panini maker) we decided we were going to keep on track to being productive today. Which meant: a trip to the vet! Penny was due for her yearly boosters, and has been having problems with her knee, which the vet said should be fine, as long as it’s not causing her pain, although we should definitely keep an eye on it! After a couple shots and a rather unfortunate gathering of a stool sample (:/), we decided to give the wee girl a treat and take her by Petsmart to pick a treat. She chose a rather lovely pigs ear, which is surprising, since she’s never had one before! The following is what happened when the pigs ear was unwrapped and handed out

20130402_160042

20130402_160056

20130402_160100

and the thing is now sitting untouched in the hallway. So, the jury is still out on that one – when the decision is in, I’ll be sure not to keep you hanging long πŸ˜‰

Other than our vet-related excursions, left on the agenda today is a call to these guys

20130402_171003

so Mark and I can get our rental washer and dryer (!!!!) installed. While renting sucks, it does mean no more $1.75 per load trips to the laundry mat, which is just… FAN-freaking-TASTIC. πŸ™‚ And then Mark and I are taking a trip to Wal-Mart to return some clothes Mark bought that don’t fit and to, well, poke around and see what else we can find. Hope you guys are all having an amazing Tuesday, and if dinner turns out like I think it will, I may just be back tonight. I know, I know. Calm yourselves πŸ˜‰

What’s your dogs favorite treat? Any advice on avoiding low-blood-sugar insanity?

4 responses to “Conquering the day

  1. The Honorable Monica Brown says:

    I don’t know what sister you’re referring to. I’m perfect. Also, I want a panini maker!!!!

    • Chelsea says:

      No, you NEED one. I’m telling you, restaurant sandwiches will be a thing of the past, and you can get one for, like, $30 πŸ™‚

  2. charlotte says:

    LOL I get that hulk-like transformation when I’m hungry too! Love this blog! And Penny is adorable!

    • Chelsea says:

      Thank you so much! You’ll see TONS of pictures of Penny here, just you wait! And hey – this blog loves your blog, and thinks you’re pretty rad, too!

Leave a Reply

