The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Turn the beat around

on April 11, 2013

After this morning’s mini pity party, I gave myself a swift kick in the pants and made myself count my blessings (among which are an amazing husband, family close by, and a million puppy kisses a day). I’m trying to get better at being in control of my emotions, and deciding to just be happy and at peace, and this morning was a bit of a rough patch through that.

image

A big part of turning my frown upside down was an intense trip to the gym (after a great late brunch with the hubby, which was wonderful). I knew that I needed to do a toning day today since I’ve missed the last few Group Power classes, but that I also wanted cardio and couldn’t handle any one thing for too long… Looking back on it, apparently I was feeling finicky πŸ™‚

I did four different supersets following this work out, and after each combo of exercises, I did 20 minutes of a different cardio machine (rowing, lateral elliptical, upright bike, standard elliptical). The time flew, my legs and shoulders were busted, and my endorphins were (and still are!) flowing πŸ™‚

Plus, I got these bad boys from the rowing machine

image

Chicks dig scars (and blisters), right? Dinner has been done – boring old turkey spaghetti, which was delicious if boring πŸ˜‰ – and now I’m settling in to devour Salt, Sugar, Fat by Michael Moss which is my latest literary obsession, and which I will definitely be talking more about soon!

What are you obsessed with reading right now? What helps turn your frown upside-down?

2 responses to “Turn the beat around

  1. charlotte says:

    Oh I look forward to hearing how that book is! I’m reading two books at the moment (both of which eric gave me/recommended) one is a book on html & css design, and the other is think and grow rich by napoleon hill. im obsessed

    • Chelsea says:

      So far the book is like scary addicting – almost a scary as the power of sugar, lol. What’s Think and Grow Rich about?

Leave a Reply

