The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Reflecting on Boston

on April 17, 2013

So, yesterday on the blog was a remarkably quiet day. I didn’t mean to disappear, but I don’t always deal the best with sudden emotional upheaval, so I felt like I needed a sec to just…breathe. Reflect. Pray. And to try and make sense of this thing that can’t be made sense of.

image

I spent yesterday reading the heroic tales of runners continuing on to donate blood, of first responders and all the helpers who rushed forward in spite of their own potential danger. I read all of your blog posts, those of you who ran, or were going to run, or were half way across the country but still heartbroken because this is our community.

And I think perhaps the reason I had such a hard time processing Boston is because I’m someone who is new to running, and wasn’t sure if I really belonged to this newfound and lovely community. And Boston taught me that, well, I do. If I didn’t, would I have decided to do my run yesterday in silent commemoration? Would that same run have brought me to tears? Would I so strongly have wanted to do whatever I could to help, and thus felt so helpless to be so far away? I know I belong here because, well, I felt so overwhelmingly pissed because damn it, we’re runners. And runners are a group you don’t want to mess with.

This post is for Boston, for the strength and determination they show in the face of tragedy. For the runners who every year have and will continue to embody this fantastic spirit.

image

2 responses to “Reflecting on Boston

  1. Charlotte says:

    Awesome post. Things are slowly getting back to normal here in the sense they’ve re-opened my bar method studio and a couple other establishments within 3 blocks of ground zero. Things are still surreal in the sense that armored tanks, swat teams and men with machine guns have taken over the city. i have to admit though, its comforting that they’re there.

    • Chelsea says:

      I’ll bet! Its so good to hear that things are slowly getting back to normal. Like you said in your post today, if they don’t then the terrorists are winning. Keep kicking Bar Method ass!

Leave a Reply

