The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

What is my hair doing now?!

on April 24, 2013

20130423_114132

I mean, come on! What IS that!? That’s what I get for taking super sweat pictures of myself before taking the time to fix my headband first. And for, you know, posting pictures of myself on the interwebs 😉 PHOTO BOMB: can you see Mark in the background? I’m not even sure he knew this was being taken. I’m not sure he’d approve, to be honest. He gets weird about my rampant photo taking in public. And, real quick, before we get off the subject of my absolutely horrendous bang-halo, I’d like to show you guys my favorite favorite FAVORITE possession in the whole world:

20130423_114142

Okay, so this is my favorite for many reasons: I’ve had it forever. It’s polka dot, which I always flip my lid over. And it’s got those little teeth that really dig in to your hair. I have to be honest, I’d love to have a million of those bright and shiny BIC Bands, but that’s just not a thing that’s going to be happening any time soon, financially. So I pick up a whole bunch of these cheap, brightly colored, clearly-intended-for-children headbands available in any local Wal-Mart/Target/Hy-Vee type place, and those work find. They leave me with that nasty headband line, but what can you do?

In keeping with my efforts to lighten up at the gym this week, I kept to the elliptical for a short 30 minutes (not including cool-down and picture taking time, obviously). I got in just over a mile and a half of “hill intervals” and it was SO. %*(%*#(. HARD.

20130423_114158

Probably because of the fact that my legs are DEAD after Julie’s No-Nonsense Circuit that I did on Monday! Seriously, I got up yesterday morning, took three steps to the bathroom and, if I hadn’t had to pee so bad, I would have turned right back around.

But it was a run day for Mark, and I wasn’t going to not go with him on his day off, so I found the happy medium. I’m pretty sure it was that damn squat-jump squat-lunge combo of Julie’s that really did me in, but I have to take my own responsibility for not foam rolling like I should have – my knees and quads, at least. I’ve been trying to roll out my butt/calves daily, and it hurts and it sucks, but really I’m just being whiny.

Anywho, after the gym we ran by HyVee to pick up stuff to make salads at home, but that really just turned in to us getting the HyVee salad bar because they just put out watermelon with their fruit, and they had the chicken I wanted already cooked and cut up and ready to cover with spinach, so there you go! Then again, I don’t take my phone in if we’re not planning on eating/buying anything interesting, and since no phone equals no pictures, let’s imagine the salad looked a bit like this (even though this is a picture of a salad I ate at Jason’s Deli, like, months ago).

20130320_193112.jpg

While normally after a workout I’m in the mood for something a bit more beefy than a salad (sometimes quite literally), yesterday was a special occasion, as we had plans to go out with my parents for Cajun food. And I can GET. DOWN. on some Cajun food. So stay tuned for some pretty epic food pictures. You’ve been warned. 🙂

2 responses to “What is my hair doing now?!

  1. I love that headband!! before i even read the explanation about it, i was all “omg want one!” lol nice one of mark in the background 🙂

    and yummm cajun foooood!

    • Chelsea says:

      I’m telling you man, Target hair isle! You can get like five cute headbands for six bucks or something. Its great and I don’t feel emotional shame if/when I lose it!

Leave a Reply

