The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Is it worth it?

on April 26, 2013

The other day hubby and I were just hanging out in the office, browsing the internet and working on various thingamajigs when he ran across this article on Yahoo about just how much exercise it takes to burn off various junk foods and fast foods.

image

Some of the biggest shockers for me? Two hours of Zumba to burn off that bad boy blooming onion, and over an hour of lap swimming to burn off one of those delicious soft pretzels a la the mall. Dayum!! It was a little odd to me that the article picked some kind of arbitrary comparisons to make – sure, it would take you 7,000 situps to burn off a Snickers or whatever, but why would you only do it in situps?- but the point remains that sometimes we’re not aware of the true reality food has for our bodies!

What was even more shocking to me personally was the fact that I have eaten a great many foods on this list before with no second thought, and definitely without the accompanying exercise. I mean, sometimes there are things that come along that kind of slap you in the face and remind you where you’ve come from, and this was one of those things for me. So it was kind of nice to see that a lot of the foods on this list don’t hold the same temptation power over me that they once did. Then there are things like the six pack of Oreos that you can burn off in a few miles of waking. Sign me up!
πŸ˜‰

Any foods that you’d rather just not know about, nutritionally? Favorite way to burn of those treats?

7 responses to “Is it worth it?

  1. Haha ahh 7000 situps- thats insanity!! although zumba for 2 hours sounds rather fun- bloomin’ onion me up πŸ™‚

    • Chelsea says:

      See, its all about choices, right? Then again, I’d do Zumba for days for, a pan of not-quite-done brownies, so I suppose we all have our points of compromise! πŸ™‚

  2. Runner Girl Eats says:

    Outback cheese fries are worthy every freakin sit up needed. Those are my biggest guilty pleasure.

  3. Great post! I always think it’s important to ask yourself its what I’m about to eat really worth the extra calories. I would run all day for chocolate chip cookies or cake though.

Leave a Reply

