The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Trouble giving compliments?

on April 29, 2013

So, as is no surprise, part of the reason for this blog is to chronicle my adventures with weight loss. Which means, shockingly enough, I have some weight to lose 😉 And, despite the frustrations of the other week, things in that vein are going well! But the thing I’ve been noticing lately is that people are having a hard time complementing me on said progress.

Wow! Something about that doesn’t sound right, does it? Lol. Let me explain! This past week I had coworkers on multiple occasions come up to me and compliment me on my weight loss. Which feels AMAZING 🙂 but each one of them also told me they hoped I wasn’t offended by the implication that I had weight to lose. As though I might be insulted at the very nice thing they’re saying.

image

I don’t know. This doesn’t make any sense to me for a few reasons:

A.) Fat people tend to know they’re fat

B.) If you’re saying something nice, why worry?

Perhaps there is a vital life experience that I’m missing that makes this hard for me to understand, but let me just say that, for me, I’ll never have a problem with someone telling me something nice meant to lift me up. I think far too often we’re afraid that if we say something nice (“you’re hair looks nice today!”) we’re also implying something negative (“although your hair normally looks like shit”) but I think that’s OUR insecurities as the one giving the compliment!

I don’t know. I’ve never been offended by a compliment – not one delivered and meant kindly. But that’s just me. Maybe you can shed some light?

Do you feel odd complimenting others? Have you ever been offended by a compliment someone gave you sincerely?

3 responses to “Trouble giving compliments?

  1. Charlotte says:

    This is SO TRUE. I’ve never been offended by a compliment either. Saying someone looks thinner is never an insult. I agree, it’s totally the insecurity of the compliment giver. I think people need to be nicer to each other more frequently, because then compliment giving wouldnt be over-thought and nobody would worry they might be accidentally insulting someone with their kind words. There should be a national tell people they’re pretty day 🙂

    • Chelsea says:

      I agree! I didn’t write about it, but I was also thinking that I bet this kind of logic holds a lot of people back from actually giving compliments – and Lord knows we need more smiles and kindness in the world! Not that I’m an angel, because there have been many a time that I haven’t complimented someone because I was afraid they would think that was odd of me. It’s funny how we work as people.

Leave a Reply

