The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Taking a little breather

on May 1, 2013

I know, I know! I didn’t come by to talk to you guys at all yesterday and I already know how much you missed me, but let’s not dwell on the dark times, shall we? 😉

It just go SO. DAMN. NICE. outside yesterday that I thought I would do the first real day of spring/early summer some justice by taking some time off the interwebs (and the phone, the Twitter, and all the other techno-gadgets) in order to really enjoy the outside and spend some time with friends! Which is exactly what we did!

We met Mark’s parents at their house in the morning to chat and play catch-up, as his dad has been traveling a ton for business and his mom is actually getting ready to go with his dad as he leaves town again tomorrow. We hit up the HyVee salad bar (which, if you haven’t noticed by now, Mark and I think is the tops in local salad bars, which is why we’re there a couple times a week) for lunch and then Mark and I were off to Costco to do our grocery shopping!

20130430_152929

Part of the reason I love Mark so much is that, even though I know it embarrasses him to the depth of his being, he’s still willing to take pictures of me in the Costco parking lot, cradling the four pound bowl of fruit we bought for the evening’s festivities. Yes indeed, I am holding that bowl of fruit as I would a baby. Because it’s just that precious. You can’t tell from here, but it had mango in it, so…

I’ll write more about the second, post-Costco half of our evening in a bit, but really quickly I wanted to share a secret about myself: I am ABSOLUTELY. THE. WORST. at not being a car klutz. Case in point? Since I blew a fuse in my dashboard that keeps my car from making alert noises (like, you know, your car does if you open the door with the keys in the ignition or the headlights on), I’ve locked my keys in my car seven times and left the lights on, killing my battery, four. Luckily I’ve got great insurance, handy friends, and a knack for at least semi-alright timing, but still. It sucks. Which is why, on Monday, I got about a million times more frustrated than I needed to that my car wouldn’t start and this time I had nothing to do with it! I didn’t leave the dome light on, or the headlights, I didn’t leave it running overnight or anything. But kaput. Dead.

Cut to the end, turns out I was able to turn my almost-trip to the gym that day into a jog to Mark’s work to pick up his truck, drive it to our apartment, jump my car, drive the truck back, and then jog back to my apartment. It was about 20 minutes jogging, round trip, and coupled with a quick 20 minute yoga podcast it all turned out all right. Just the universe delivering me a little tip to go with the flow every now and then, I guess!

Are you, like me, one of those clumsy, klutsy people, no matter what you do?

One response to “Taking a little breather

  1. Hahaha “Part of the reason I love Mark so much is that, even though I know it embarrasses him to the depth of his being, he’s still willing to take pictures of me in the Costco parking lot, cradling the four pound bowl of fruit” — might be my favorite sentence ever written on the internet.

    And YES i’m the clumsiest person with a car too! it’s partly why ive chosen to live in cities for the majority of my 20s, i can’t be responsible for a motor vehicle.

Leave a Reply

