The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

The Liebster Award: Best day ever

on May 2, 2013

So, here I am, just going about my morning blog-checking routine (don’t lie and say it’s not the first thing you do with your phone in the AM) and I hear from my friend Charlotte that she has gone and done something totally rad and nominated me for the Liebster Award! 😀

liebster-blog-award

To take the words literally out of Charlotte’s mouth,

The Liebster Award is given to new bloggers (those with under 200 followers) by another blogger who deems the aforementioned bloggers to be up-and-comers and “ones to watch”. Liebster is German for beloved, so this award is an all around feel good pat on the back, and it feels great.

So a million thanks to Charlotte and on to the proper bulk of the festivities! The Liebster award requires that I tell you 11 things about myself, answer the 11 questions that Charlotte came up with, create my own 11 questions, and then link you guys to 11 other amazing blogs with under 200 followers. BUT, upfront disclaimer, I’m not sure that I read that many blogs with that few followers (or how to find out how many followers a blog has) so I’m going to try and just point out blogs I feel like fly under the radar/need to be about a million times more well known than they are! So, without further ado, my entry for the Liebster award!

My 11 Random Facts

  1. I can only eat candy/chips in twos. Or fours. Some even integer – I need to have an even amount of candy to chew on each side of my mouth so that the sugar and sweetness is dispersed equally. And no, I’m not kidding. Told you these were random. And I’ve absolutely asked for more candy/given some away if my numbers don’t line up.
  2. I collect coffee mugs. However, of the dozens and dozens I have, there are only three or four I use regularly.
  3. I can knit, crochet, do basic sewing, I can spin (like, on a spinning wheel) and I know how to can. I’m basically Laura Ingalls Wilder, only not.
  4. Speaking of Laura Ingalls Wilder, I never actually read all those books going up. I got through the first one or two and then switched to watching Michael Landon on the TV show because have you seen those dimples?
  5. I play an MMO (massive multiplayer online) role-playing game called Guild Wars 2 where I play a bitching fire elementalist capable of razing cities to the ground, and a guardian who enjoys being a single lady defending entire groups of men in battle. Yeah, that’s right. What do you do with your afternoon? You can be jealous 😉
  6. Reading is absolutely my favorite thing to do. More than running, more than blogging, more than making food (but probably not more than eating it). I love stories, words, language, and the power and mystery and universalism in all those things. I’d love to be a writer one day. Keep your fingers crossed for me.
  7. I think kids are pretty awesome. I enjoy spending time with those below the age of 10 because they make me laugh and older than 10 because they’re finally able to keep up with the sarcasm I’ve usually got going on. Kids are a lot smarter than we give them credit for, and I think we owe it to them to try and give a shit about our world.
  8. I’m a bleeding-hearted liberal optimist who has a hard time, sometimes, accepting the unfairness and cruelty of our world. It sounds dandy, but can be incredibly frustrating to feel such a lack of power – and Mark teases me about it all the time – but I can’t help but hope in the ultimate goodness of this world.
  9. For a long, long time now I’ve thought that Jon Stewart may just be the sexiest man on the planet, and he doesn’t get nearly enough credit for that. Go ahead, I’ll defend that one until the end.
  10. When I was in the 6th grade, I wrote a story where a young girls entire family is killed in a car wreck and she lives on the streets, avoiding the law. She drank beer and was 16 – it was true grit. Confession – it was a plot I copied from a Lifetime movie, and my 6th grade teacher pulled me into the hall after reading it to see if I needed to go talk to the guidance counselor about any sad feelings I was having. Even then people thought I was batshit.
  11. I don’t like that this entire award is based around the number 11, and not 10 or 12. I hate odd numbers. I think they’re unlucky.

Other Amazing Blogs That Deserve Your Love and E-Hugs (in no particular order)

Questions from Charlotte

1.) How many siblings do you have and where do you fall in birth order?

The Hardships Of Being The Middle Child

Baby of the family, right here! I’ve got a brother who’s about 10 years older than I am who lives with his wife and two sons in South Carolina (much love to Brandon, Mimi, Jackson and Giles!) as well as a sister who is about 7 years older than I am and lives with her daughter in Chicago (shout out to Monica, Aubrey, and Jason!). I was basically an only child, though, because from the time I was old enough to really notice, both of my siblings were out of the house.

2.) What is your most embarrassing childhood memory? (stolen from Beth, because that’s an awesome question)

So, I’m kind of ashamed to admit this, because I don’t know if I’ve ever told that many people. I’m one of those people who defines themselves as “smart”, and when I was a nerdy kid in elementary school, it was kind of the building block of my identity. So when I made the school spelling bee, I was pimping it easy. I studied the book of potential words for WEEKS, every night with my mom after dinner. And then the big day came. And I got out the first round. On the world pilot. Spelled P-I-O-L-O-T because I decided to sound it out and decided it needed an extra syllable.

spelling b fail

I cried in the girls bathroom for an hour.

3.) What is  your favorite junk food snack?

Except I totally do. Or would, if I ever allowed Nutella into my home. Why don’t I? See: spoon. empty jar. bajillion calories.

4.) If you were a super hero, what would your name be?

Sarcastagirl. Similar to Elastagirl, only my superpower involves using biting wit and raging sarcasm to bring people to their knees with tear-laugter and fear. The costume would most likely involve some kind yoga pants and a pullover, because you don’t need a leather bustier to whip people with words.

5.) What is one thing you can not live without?

20130430_202400

6.) What was your undergrad major and does it relate to what you’re doing now?

I was an English and sociology major in college, which is kind of related to what I’m doing now (working in a book store). But I’m also currently finishing up a Master’s in Library Science, and as my end career goal is to be a young adult librarian (and trainer/Zumba teacher on the side, lol) this second degree will be of even more help!

7.) If you were a sitcom character, which one would you be?

Monica Geller and I are soulmates. Former fat girls with obsessive compulsive tendencies who love geeks and tend to pay too much attention to detail? Now who does that sound like…. 😉

8.) If you could get any celebrity to play you in the movie of your life, who would you choose?

I think Emma Stone is both the most beautiful as well as the most hilarious woman on the planet (with the exception of Rebel Wilson, who is an angel sent straight from Heaven’s comedy club) and would be delighted to have her play me. I think we share the same kind of wit and timing – see question 4 – plus I always admire Hollywood celebs who seem to retain their dignity and intelligence while still producing great films.

9.) Would you rather win an Emmy, an Oscar, a Tony or a Grammy?

Probably an Oscar. I was really in to theater in high school and through the beginning of college, and the bottom line is that I can’t sing for shit, so that pretty much takes the G and T out of EGOT. Plus something about joining the ranks of people who have been awarded that tiny golden man…it kind of makes my heart go pitter-patter. Just very, very cool.

10.) If you could go on a one month vacation starting tomorrow, where would you go?

This is the ice hotel. It’s an entire hotel re-made every year out of ice. Each room is designed by a different artist and is truly like living in a piece of art. Plus all the cups are frozen, so drinks are always cold. Again – Ice. Hotel. I like cuddling, and prefer to be too cold to too hot. So maybe not for a full month, but for a bit at least 😉

11.) Are you a morning, afternoon and/ or evening exerciser?

image

Morning, preferably. But not too early. Like, maybe 10:30, schedule permitting? That way I can eat and digest (this tank can’t run on empty, and I get wicked cramps too soon after eating) and still get that bee-yatch knocked out early.

My Questions for Other Nominees

  1. What’s your biggest pet peeve?
  2. If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things would you absolutely HAVE to have?
  3. What’s your lucky number?
  4. Would you rather make a million dollars doing something you hate or one dollar doing something you love?
  5. What’s your favorite snack food?
  6. If you could be any fictional character, who would you be?
  7. Who is your hero?
  8. What three words best describe your workout routine?
  9. If someone gave you a million dollars, what would you do with it?
  10. What’s your most embarrassing childhood moment (keeping this gem of a question going!)?
  11. Who would win in a battle between Ryan Gosling and Ryan Reynolds (AKA the Ryans)? Why?

So there you have it! A little “sneak peek” in to the depths of what can only be called The Outlaw Life!

One response to “The Liebster Award: Best day ever

  1. HAHAHA Chelsea this is why I’m obsessed with you!! You had me laughing at “i only eat candy in twos” and i didn’t stop til, well, im still laughing. LOVED THIS!! if there was an award that was a follow award up to the best liebster award post, you would also win that award 🙂

Leave a Reply

