The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Living in the Twilight Zone

on May 3, 2013

Those of you in the Midwest know what I’m talking about. I’m talking about the fact that when I went to bed on Wednesday, the day looked like this

20130501_114627

20130501_114622

And when I woke up yesterday, everything had morphed to this

20130502_155556

And it sucks. 😦

I mean, yeah, there’s a small part of me who thinks it’s cool to be part of what is a mini-moment of history in the making – after all, it hasn’t snowed in a measurable amount in May in Kansas since 1907. That’s over a hundred years since this has happened, and it will most likely be another hundred years before it happens again, which is kind of cool. Then again, if this happens a few years from now I’ll be retracting my words here and going on an even bigger diatribe against global warming.

Global Warming

This GIF pops up when you Google global warming, so it seemed relevant

So what’s a girl to do? Easy – stay inside and rejoice in the fact that I’m a lucky girl in the 21st century so, other than being inconvenient and robbing me of my ability to wear tanktops outside, the snow didn’t technically do all that much to hamper my daily activities.

Yesterday, after a boring breakfast of Green Machine and some peanut-butter banana toast, I upped my snowy spirits with some coffee in this bad boy, brought back from across the pond by my grandparents on their last trip

20130502_144549

I wasn’t one of those people to get up at 4:00 am to watch the royal wedding or anything, but my grandparents were there shortly after it happened and said that you could purchase literally everything with a commemorative picture on it – coffee mugs, salt and pepper shakers, plates, toilet bowl covers (seriously), decks of cards, actions figures (yes, really seriously) but they knew my collective obsession with coffee mugs, so this souvenir it was! Plus, something about this mug makes the coffee taste more British…? Not sure what that means, but I’m pretty sure that’s a thing.

After breakfast I went to the gym, and was faced with the question I’ve been bandying about in my mind for a while now – speed? Or distance? Because I’d love to be able to get my 5K time down to below 10:00, but short of just, you know, running faster, I’m not quite sure how to get to that goal. But I also have a much more over-arching goal of getting to those 10K, half-Mary, and marathon distances one day, and I know how to get to those goals – run longer. And for some reason I feel like I don’t need as much of a “plan” for running longer? I know that I’m not the only runner out there with a problem like this, so opinions? Speedwork first (especially since my 5K is coming up in EXACTLY TWO WEEKS!!!! πŸ˜€ I just realized how close it really was!)? Or laying that distance foundation so that the speedwork can truly be about the speed?

Hopefully everyone out there is having just a really, really awesome Friday! Mark has to work later this afternoon, and it’s bound to be a late one, but something about this late-onset magic summer snow makes me want to go somewhere and just read a book and maybe do a little writing? It’s been way too long, so I suppose we’ll see! Hopefully whatever your doing is warm and dry and full of laughter and people you love! Now to celebrate properly

image

Favorite Will Ferrel movie? Did you watch the royal wedding? Favorite place abroad you’ve traveled – or would love to travel?

3 responses to “Living in the Twilight Zone

  1. megbek says:

    I have read about this snow crap that’s happening everywhere! What is happening to Earth? Ha! Ah, the big running debate: speed vs distance. I am totally jealous of those who have both under their belts (under 8:00 pace marathons, what?!?!). Now that we’re bloggie buddies I can’t wait to follow your report for your 5K in 2 weeks! I love hearing about a good race! Woo! Have a fantastic weekend dearest!

  2. Hahaha i love that you have that mug. i wasn’t up at 4am to watch i was up at 4:30 πŸ™‚ And i’m soo excited about the royal baby!! aaand im going with anchorman, no elf, no old school, no anchorman. final answer.

    • Chelsea says:

      I also love that I have that mug. It joins Paris as my only foreign mugs πŸ™‚ I hope they name the royal baby something awesome, like Gessika (as opposed to Jessica) or Boogerface – something that makes me laugh every time I see it in print πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

