The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

A fitness thought

on May 9, 2013

image

That’s the only picture I took yesterday. Which, you know, isn’t necessarily a bad thing, because it’s a damn pretty salad to have a picture of! πŸ˜‰

So, my ramblings thought for today is largely about the 5K Mark and I are doing in a little over a week. It’s our first one – singularly and collectively – and my parents are running it too, which is amazing! But lately I’ve been kind if waffling over the issue of personal pacing.

I’m the runner in the family now. That’s wasn’t always the case, but it sure is now. This whole race thing is, you know, right up my alley. I want to get there and blow it out of the water. But then there’s this little thing called I also want to experience this whole race with my family.

So what do I do? Now, I want to make this clear – this is COMPLETELY my issue. Mark and my parents are overwhelmingly supportive of me doing my own thing, running wise, and have assured me they’ll have fun regardless. But I can’t stop thinking about it. Do I run at their pace? Try and have them match mine (no. Clearly no to this one, not that I’m a speed demon by any stretch of the imagination)? Or do I run my race and then turn around and run theirs with them? Or do I just say screw it and meet them all at the finishers party?

I’m not sure what I’ll do yet. We picked this first race to be super theme-y, fun, untimed and low stress because its our first one, so I feel like this shouldn’t be so complicated!

Input? Thoughts? I’d love to hear from those of you who’ve raced before with loved ones and how you handled it!

5 responses to “A fitness thought

  1. oh wow interesting dilemma! well, i guess you need to really be honest with yourself about WHY you’re running this race. are you doing it because you’ve been working your butt off and want to go for time? or because you’ve been working your butt off and want to enjoy this as a fun family fitness activity? honestly, i don’t think there’s a wrong answer! Whichever decision you make, you know everyone will support you!

  2. megbek says:

    My dearest Chelsea – we have had similar fears. I run races with my friends frequently and we are all at different levels, both faster and slower. I sign up for these races with this thought in mind: I am doing this to have fun, not to compete. So, I have to make sure that my mind is in that same spot when the race begins and I try to just enjoy it with my loved ones. To combat this, I sign up for races alone if I want to actually race race. So, if I were you, I’d run it with your group this go around and aim for another one to RACE. That’s just my two cents because I learned early on that entering with a group of people and finishing alone is a really weird and unlikable feeling. πŸ™‚ GOOD LUCK either way though my love, you’ll do great!
    PS That salad rocks and I wouldn’t be mad if that were my only picture either!! πŸ™‚

    • Chelsea says:

      Okay, I’m totally saving this in my “sweetest comments ever” file, as well as my “incredibly helpful advice” folder, lol. πŸ˜€ It’s great to know I’m not the only person out there who has these thoughts about running the race with people they love at different levels. And I think this is great. I mean, it’s not like there aren’t a million other races I can do for “time” right, especially since Mark isn’t as big a runner as I am, so I’m sure the opportunity to run solo will present itself…

      I didn’t even think to imagine what it would be like crossing the finish line and then just…waiting? Circling back? Either way seems weird. So I love this advice, ladies, and all your love is returned ten-fold with a million e-hugs!

Leave a Reply

