The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Good morning, Monday!

on May 13, 2013

How was everyone’s weekend? I’ve been keeping up with you all, and it looks like everyone had a delightful mother’s day – a belated but huge THANK YOU and lots of LOVE sent to all the amazing mother’s out there, and all of the amazing sons and daughters they’ve released on the world! 😉

This weekend was a bit of an odd one for me. When I was getting ready to go to work on…Friday (?) – the days kind of blend together oddly when your weekend is technically on Tuesday and Wednesday – I dropped a huge pizza stone directly across the top of my toes. For those who aren’t foodies or don’t love pizza, a pizza stone is basically just a five to ten pound block of stone that you can use as a baking sheet and a way to make your pizza crust super crispy. Ours is square. So, to recap: I dropped a ten pound piece of rock on my toes. Barefoot.

image

Luckily, nothing was broken! But things are still swollen, still bruised, and really, really gross looking. Sorry, no pictures. I almost can’t even look at my own toe. But, oddly enough, the pain has lessened considerably after they let me take it easy a few shifts at work and I took the weekend to stay off of it and recover as much as possible. The rest of the weekend, thus, looked something like

image

Only, you know, with more fast food 😦 Yeah, not the greatest weekend where diet was concerned. Just one of those times in life where we were busy, hurt, lazy, and full of excuses. But Mark and I are vowing to not let this recent processed food expedition get out of control, so today it’s back to oatmeal and peanut butter. And bananas. Because lets be honest, those are like the three foods I eat like they’re going out of style!

However, this weekend was also mother’s day! Which was phenomenal, even though Mark and I both had to work. We’ll be seeing Mark’s parents on Wednesday, since his mom is SUPER popular and a brilliant musician at their church, so they were already out and about Sunday. We went out to breakfast with my folks – IHOP for the win!! – and I had THE. MOST. delicious whole wheat pancakes w/ blueberry and lemon. Mostly because I don’t know if I’ve ever made good, non-brick whole wheat pancakes for myself. And I’m always down for food I didn’t cook, especially when it doesn’t come in a greasy paper bag.

Today I’m already trying to get my head in the space to go for a run, or to at least get up to the gym for some strength training. The break for my toe was a nice one, allowing me to avoid this impending feeling of burn out, but I also don’t want to let one or two days off slip away from me to become a week off, then two weeks…y’all know how it happens that way! And with the Rave Run coming up on Friday (!!!! I can’t believe it’s only a week away!) I especially can’t have this week getting away from me. Hope you guys are meeting the week head on, and having a super awesome Monday along the way!

9 responses to “Good morning, Monday!

  1. megbek says:

    Ouch! Oh my gosh! Glad you were able to get some time off work for that! That’s a serious injury! I mean, I’m glad things aren’t broken, but dang, this seems almost worst! 😦 I am so sorry!!! No worries about your weekend diet, everyone lets that happen from time to time. I drove my happy ass up to Coldstone for some gluttonous red velvet cake + cake batter ice cream last night! 🙂 Yay for the Rave Run! After checking it out, it looks similar to the one I did this weekend and if it is, at all, I can safely tell you it’ll be the most fun race you’ll ever do! That’s a good one to start out with! Make sure to get tons of glow stuff.

    • Chelsea says:

      Thanks for the “insiders” opinion! I’m super excited, although I don’t really have a point of comparison, but I still think it’s a SUPER fun theme for a race!

      And yeah, the toe thing is a TOTAL BUMMER. One of those things that just kind of, you know, hurts no matter what. But I went for a slow run today, and it didn’t feel great, but it didn’t hurt any more than it did when I’m not running so…good sign, right?! lol 🙂

  2. OUCH! oh holy cow that is all sorts of horrible, i winced as i was reading, and im still wincing. you are SO lucky nothing is broken! and you’re going for a run today?! you are a trooper! I cant believe the rave run is so soon!! hopefully your foot will be better, im sure it will be. and i lol’ed at the lie down gif and then the note “Only, you know, with more fast food” i feel ya on that one sister 🙂

    • Chelsea says:

      Ooh, girl, it was a BAD weekend diet wise! I mean, I don’t really feel “guilty” about it per se, but I can objectively label it a bad weekend, that’s for sure. But on my run today things didn’t hurt any more than they’ve been hurting in general lately, so I’ll take that as a good sign!

      I’m SO excited for the race, but am a little nervous just because, you know, first one and all. But at least its at night and in black light, so I’ll automatically look cool, even when I look like a huge dork 🙂

      • omg sounds SO fun! Btw- what did you decide?? are you going for time or running with the fam?

      • Chelsea says:

        Oh, I’m still trying to decide, and most likely won’t change my mind until I’m actually running, but I think I’m going to try and stick with my family for as long as possible – there’s a lifetime of races out there, and I know my family won’t always be available to run them with me!

  3. Mmmm whole wheat pancakes are the best! And SO filling

Leave a Reply

