The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Well, I would rather…

on May 15, 2013

Of course, I didn’t invent this!  I got it from this gal, who got it from this lady, and you know me, I can’t pass up a good survey when I see one out there floating around!

#1. Never watch TV again or never run again?

image

This is a harder question for me than it should be! But, honestly, I’d probably give up TV. Which is hard for me, because I watch A LOT of TV. Or should I say I have the TV on a lot for background noise, even though I’m more often than not watching a show I’ve already seen. But there are always books! And music! And, in this scenario, now lots and lots of running! So there you go.

#2. Run 100 miles per hour or Fly 10 miles per hour?

Fly! Absolutely fly! I mean, yeah, running at 100 miles an hour would probably feel like flying. But still. Definitely actual flight. Who wouldn’t love to be able to fly?

#3. Only be able to run and not walk or Only be able to walk and not run?

image

This depends? Do I suddenly get the correct aerobic capacity to allow me to only run to the places I need to be? If so, then I would totally run everywhere. I mean, you arrive faster, you look cooler, and who doesn’t love that little sheen of sweat. If not…then walk. Because that shit would get old.

#4. Have to give up running for a year with the promise that you will BQ  (Boston qualify) once you resume, or Never be able to BQ but run as much as you want?

image

I’ll take that Boston Qualifying time, please! I feel confident that I could cross-train, swim, and otherwise get my way through a year of not running, but to get to Boston? That’s a life dream. There would be plenty of time for more running after this imaginary year off, but what can I say? That’s a bit too much of a golden goose to pass up!

#5. Be injury free and a slow runner, or a fast runner with constant injuries?

Best Injury Reaction Ever

Seeing as how I’m already that slow running prone to a ton of injuries, I would trade almost anything for being injury free for the rest of my running career! Plus, I’m in this phase right now where I’m way more in to distance than I am in to speed, so this would be fitting for now. Then again, maybe we need to redefine “slow”?

#6. Be a barefoot runner or wear running shoes all the time (even in bed)?

image

I’m all about whatever choice allows me to go barefoot as much as possible! While I actually think that barefoot running isn’t the best for you and is more of a running fad than it is anything else, I’m also not wearing running shoes in bed. No. Way. Even if they are cute – I can’t even wear socks to bed without having a mental freak-out.

#7. Hydrate during a run with mayonnaise or wasabi?

This is a gross question. Because I think both of these things happen to be very, very gross (although I can do mayo in tiny amounts on a sandwich and wasabi in small amounts on my sushi). Of the two, though, at least mayo wouldn’t burn as much on the way down, and would actually leave me capable of running after said hydration. But still. Gross. 🙂

#8. Run with your eyes closed or run with your ankles tied together?

Arguing on The Internet Before The Internet

Eyes closed. Because this is already a thing that happens and I think it’s incredibly brave that those with visual impairments run marathons and, like this guy, sometimes even those without loss of sight do their best to represent the impaired running population. Plus, I already fall down enough without my ankles tied together.

What about you, guys?! I’d love to see as many of you as possible filling out the survey – I love these questions and would like to hear what you guys out there have to say. Hope your Wednesday is delightful!

7 responses to “Well, I would rather…

  1. olivetorun says:

    I’ll see you at Boston 😉 ❤

  2. megbek says:

    I agree with you on most of these – especially the flying one. Of course, who wouldn’t want to fly!?? That’s my super hero power too, I don’t care about anything except flight! 🙂 The barefoot running thing is certainly a bit trendy and overrated and I agree with the socks and shoes in bed! Bleh! However, I wouldn’t care how much it burned, mayonnaise is by far the worst invention ever! I can’t even handle it! My friend sent me this yesterday and it solidified my hatred!
    http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelysanders/reasons-mayonnaise-is-gross-the-devils-condiment

    Enjoy! 🙂 Happy Hump day. WOOO!

    • Chelsea says:

      Yeah, they was one of those questions where my real answer probably should have been “neither”, lol! I just can’t take that nose burning pain!

  3. Hahaha love the gifs- that guy running while flying really seems to have the best of both worlds 🙂 great answers! ok, so, between you, me and the rest of the internet: if i had to choose between running and tv… i would pick tv… ahh i know that sounds horrible but yeah, tv wins 🙂

Leave a Reply

