The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Stop! Summer time.

on May 22, 2013

image

Sorry for how totally awful that picture is! But did you guys know that it’s basically summer time?! While this means a great many things in general (cookouts! camping! mojitos!) it also means that it’s time for my annual summer time fitness goals! Summer just seems like the perfect time for going balls-to-the-walls crazy over just a few goals for those two months.

So what’s on the agenda for this summer, you ask?! I’m case the calendar didn’t give it away, this summer I REALLY want to focus on:

*Drinking a TON of water! I don’t drink nearly as much as I should, and on days I workout it gets even worse. And no, no tea or coffee or diet coke. Just legit water. Hopefully! Lol.

*Arms, arms, arms baby!!! I know we all have parts of our body that we’re not all that stoked about, and for me, my chicken-flapping arms have got to go! So it’s arms at least two to three times a week on top of everything else.

*Bring on the yoga, baby! I’m determined to get back to the mat this summer, not only because it’s great active recovery and muscle toning, but it’s a great spiritual practice for getting back in touch with your mental self.

*Last but not least, the running! I’m thinking about maybe maybe signing up for a half marathon?! With only one 5K ever under my belt, this seems totally sane lol πŸ˜‰ but either way I definitely want to work on upping my mileage, which means I’m planning on slowly working my way from 4 miles now to just over 7 by the end of the summer!

And there you have it! It’s a pretty regimented plan, which I’m hoping works out for the better, but I’m giving myself permission to mix things up a bit, as long as the end goal is still in mind!

What about you?! Do you have set summer goals? What are your plans for the summer?

6 responses to “Stop! Summer time.

  1. Ooooo i love this workout calendar idea! I’ve never thought of just laying it all out on an actual calendar so I can see what the schedule is. i LOVE this! Sign up for that half marathon girl!!! ah this post is so inspiring!!

    • Chelsea says:

      lol, thanks dear! Sorry about not responding until today – I LITERALLY could not put the book I was reading down to do, well, basically anything internet-y. It’s so cool to think I’m being inspiring to beautiful ladies such as yourself!

  2. megbek says:

    Workout calendars are the best! I make them on my computer and print them out. πŸ™‚ Girlfrannnn, I had done one 10k (poorly, at that) before I signed up for my first half. I have no doubt you can accomplish that goal, you ain’t cray!! Not one bit! I think you’re totally the smartest person in the world yo increase your mileage the way you have. You are following all the rules to prevent injury with that decision. Can’t wait to hear how this goes and which half you sign up for πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ Have a fabulous Wednesday!

    • Chelsea says:

      lol, I’m a rules girl! I’m ALL about the whole not-getting-injured thing, so basically the number one thing on my mind at any given time is “oh my gosh am I about to hurt myself? how can I stop being about to hurt myself” πŸ™‚ It’s not always the greatest, but I am literally the clumsiest person alive, so it works most of the time!

  3. Runner Girl Eats says:

    Summer is already in Florida! My summer is all about arms and speed. I will be spending lots of time sweating on the track the next few months πŸ™‚

    • Chelsea says:

      Oh, speedwork. Can you tell I basically just decided not to even think about the track by just choosing to focus on distance this summer? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

