The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Lets talk books

on May 23, 2013

As you guys probably know by now, I’m currently in the process of getting my masters in library and information sciences. Which means I want to be a librarian for a living, mostly because I love books and talking about books just slightly more than I love running šŸ™‚

One of my classes this summer is a class focusing on resources and services for teen readers. So I wanted to do two things on the blog today:

1. I just finished the most wonderful book for the class

image

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell is about a chubby redheaded girl and a half-Asian boy fall in love (don’t worry, that’s no spoiler). But its also about so much more than that!! Its a book about punk music and having a shitty family and being true to yourself. And love, of course, and high school, and how we communicate. And it didn’t make me feel cheesy or smarmy or like I needed to hide the front cover, which is a sensation I frequently get when reading teen fiction šŸ˜€ So I just wanted to tell you all about it so that the next time you’re in a bookstore you can look for it, because its fast and short and will make your life at least temporarily better šŸ™‚

2. I wanted to ask you guys what the last great book you read was?! It doesn’t have to be a teen book, but it totally can be. I mainly just want to know what the last book was that you stayed up to read, took a long lunch to finish, and/or couldn’t stop talking about?

Hope you all are having a wonderful Thursday. Tell me something that’s made you happy today? šŸ™‚

7 responses to “Lets talk books

  1. That is a great cover. Last book I stayed up late for was Gone Girl. Def not YA!

  2. Monicao says:

    Aubrey and I are reading Lemony Snickets. It’s pretty good šŸ™‚

    • Chelsea says:

      I LOVE Lemony Snickets! And mom said something about her wanting the Wimpy Kid books? Which ones has she read/does she still need?

      • Monicao says:

        Well, she has read 1 and is reading 2. Just wait and ask her though. She was super excited about them but I haven’t seen her read them in a week….

      • Chelsea says:

        I figured I’d just take her to the store one day with me when she’s here and point out a bunch of stuff she thinks looks interesting šŸ™‚

  3. Ohh I cant wait to read this, i’m adding it to my summer reading list šŸ™‚ last book i read was American Eve. it’s a good read about the first “It Girl” in america in the very early 20th century, and a retrospective look at the media and the culture of idolization that lay the foundation for the addiction to reality tv/voyeurism/paparazzi that we have today. its interesting how it happened, and how this girl’s life turned out. and a very happy thursday to you too my dear šŸ™‚

    • Chelsea says:

      Oh, Charlotte, this sounds totally awesome!!! As you well know about me by now, I’m a little pop culture obsessed with all things ‘trashy’ and voyeuristic (AKA The Real World, TMZ, and all their love children) so a book about how all that crazy soul train started? Yes, please!

Leave a Reply

