The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Things I Know

on May 28, 2013

I know that sometimes, when I wake up and put on the same sweatpants I’ve been wearing in the morning for days, I’ll drink my coffee black but sweet (HELLO, Stevia!) and pretend I’m still in college when I thought drinking coffee black was the epitome of academic mystery…yeah, I was that girl. And sometimes I like to pretend to still be that girl! 😉 Just a little dash of recent-nostalgia to keep the mornings interesting, hopefully you guys know what I’m talkin’ about!

image

I know that this weekend was one of the longest I’ve had in a while. My father-in-law was in the hospital with heart problems, and while he ended up being fine and is now on the road to getting better and better, there were definite tears and stresses this weekend. Sadly, there was no pie. Even for memorial day.

I know that I didn’t know WHAT I was thinking when I took on the first round of Tactical Body Training on the new fitness website I joined! I recently signed up for Daily Burn, a pay-by-month website that offers, like, a bajillion work-out videos and different work-out programs to become involved in, all for just $10.00 a month (with a 30 day free trial and the opportunity to earn another free month by trying their nutrition counseling services). The Tactical Body Training program is a tabata-based body weight workout, and during the first workout we did moves like the child’s pose push-up and the “splay”, which is basically just a burpee. It took about 30 minutes for the tabata workout, 45 total with the mobility warm-up and cool-down, but HOLY GOD DID MY ENTIRE BODY HURT. Seriously. I did this workout on Thursday, right before things with my father-in-law got dicey, and to be honest, I’m still lowering myself on to the toilet. That’s a TMI, but you get the picture – body. hurt. In a great way that was also death.

image

I know that, without a doubt, errands are the worst thing in the entire world. Yesterday before work (at 5:30) Mark and I spent the entire morning running around and taking care of errands and plans: lunch with his parents, grocery shopping, laundry, picking up various things for the summer plants – and then the day was gone. And while sometimes I feel nothing but accomplishment at getting things done, yesterday was nothing but draining. Maybe it was because I then had to go to work immediately afterwords, and maybe it was the fact that my introversion was just catching up with me and I was wiped from how busy we’d been over the rest of the weekend, but one work was over, I was straight home to bed. Not even to read and then to bed. Just to bed.

image

I know that I’ve got very little else to say this Tuesday, but wanted to point out that, in case you missed it, yes you can indeed use Modern Family and it’s accompanying GIFs to fit basically any situation on the planet. Which is exactly what should happen. 😀

How was your Memorial Day? Anything amazing happen, or any crazy stories? What’s your favorite sitcom?

4 responses to “Things I Know

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m sorry to hear about your FIL, but I’m glad everything turned out to be fine and he’s making a speedy recovery!! Poor you and poor mark! I used to drink coffee black for the same reason! now i can’t drink a coffee unless it ends in an “o” (misto, cappuccino) or an “f” (coffee with extra half and half) and omg amen for modern family gifs!! these made me smile so big just now 🙂 hope you have a relaxing tuesday girlie, you guys earned it this weekend for sure!

    • Chelsea says:

      Thanks, girl! I REALLY appreciate the well-wishes. Everything turned out alright, but things definitely got flipped upside-down for a minute there.
      “I can’t drink coffee unless it ends in an o” – major lolz! And I know what you mean. The black coffee thing is only when I’m in certain moods. If it weren’t for calories, my coffee would usually come in a frozen, blended, actually-coffee-free format 🙂

  2. megbek says:

    So sorry about the stress and the father in law situation. I was happy to read all is well, but nonetheless, the worries that you guys must have had… Glad all is turning out okay. Hooray for a killer burn workout! I have as much of a love hate relationship with those things as you. I know I need em, but dang, do they have to be so hard and make me so sore? Ah! Sorry you were so exhausted yesterday! Normally errands are fun (especially if you’re at Target!) but ahh, I know the feeling of being drained. Phil Dunfy gifs for the win! That show is amazing. My favorite sitcom, though, is definitely Parks and Recreation (at least this month it is!!). Enjoy your day lady, hope you get some rest!

    • Chelsea says:

      Thanks, girl! Today will definitely be a rest day for sure, and I’m looking forward to just reading a book and seeing how long I can go without moving from my favorite spot on the couch.
      And I totally LOVE Parks and Rec! I think Ben and Leslie might be my favorite TV couple ever and they’re just adorable and perfect. Mark likes to think he’s basically just Ron Swanson without the table making skill, and…yeah. We like that show a lot! Glad it looks like you had such a B-E-A-UTIFUL weekend, and a relaxing one to boot! Hope today is just as good a follow up, if that’s possible 😉

Leave a Reply

