The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Let’s talk Daily Burn

on May 29, 2013

Yesterday, one of the things I knew was directly related to the Daily Burn website, so I wanted to come back a bit more today to talk about just what this website is, how I came across it, and why you should probably be the most awesome person on the planet and go ahead and sign up as well. I’ll go ahead and let you guys know now that I am in no way sponsored for this post, I just have had really great interactions with the site and wanted to share!

So what do I actually DO when I log on to Daily Burn? Well, here’s the run down. When you sign up, Daily Burn has you pick a “program” you want to start – they have a cardio dance option, a kettlebell program, a P90X style bootcamp – not to mention multiple levels and formats that range in between in intensity. Most of the exercises don’t require anything other than what most home-workout-ers will already have handy: a medicine ball, some dumbbells, a yoga mat. Anything special you need (like ranging weight kettlebells) they inform you before hand so you can come prepared. And, as always, it’s completely up to you what videos you want to do when – all the videos are available, all the time, regardless of what “program” you choose. And you can always search the videos by format, length, intensity, instructor…basically until you get to that ideal exercise video!

So let’s look at an example, shall we (I feel like I’m in school teaching you all about split infinitives or long division or something, lol). When I signed up, I wanted something that I could do with NO excuse that would also be super challenging, so I went for the Tactical Body Training, the program focusing on bodyweight interval training. I watched the preview video, grabbed my mat, and prepared. The structure of Tactical Body Training is two days of tabata-based bootcamp style classes followed by two days of active recovery – yoga, mobility stretches, and guided foam rolling. So I did the first workout – and that’s as far as I’ve gotten so far, lol. I DEFINITELY was too out of shape to do the workouts back to back, as the schedule said, so I mixed in a cardio day and some extra recovery before going back. Maybe not perfect, but I figure as long as the program gets done eventually.

Daily Burn is a website similar to FitnessGlo, another service I’ve seen popping up on the blog rounds lately. The primary differences, from what I can tell, are that FitnessGlo is primarily marketed at and focused on serving women and their exercise needs, whereas Daily Burn doesn’t make those same kinds of claims. Also, Daily Burn is organized by “programs”, as opposed to a few programs mixed with an assortment of other workout formats available as well. Daily Burn is also about $5.00 a month cheaper than FitnessGlo, although if you also want access to Daily Burn’s nutrition and diet services, they end up being about the same cost at $15.00/month. As per usual, you get the first 30 days free to try when you sign up, so even if that’s all you do, I’m already finding the website to be a great resource for those days when I don’t want to go to the gym – or when I’m at the gym and have no idea what I’m in the mood to do next!

I should say before I wrap up that there IS a nutrition/diet component, like I mentioned, but it’s an extra cost, so at this point in time I’m not using those services. I’m trying to re-train my body and my mind back more towards intuitive eating and away from calorie tracking and the like (this is a different post, for sure, but I’m coming to realize how bad counting calories may be for me on the mental end of the battle), but for those of you out there who are truly looking for a holistic and well-rounded approach to changing your body, these extra services might really be worth taking a look at!

So is it worth it? I think so, so far! I mean, the one true workout I’ve done from the site left me pouring sweat, sore for days, but still had me coming back for more…so yeah, I’d call that a success for sure! I’m really excited to check out some of the videos outside my “program”, and would love for you to check out the website, maybe give those first 30 days a try, and let me know what you think!

PS: unsponsored, remember? 😉

What’s your go-to when the gym is a no-go? Any great DVDs/websites you’d recommend – I’m always on the look out!

7 responses to “Let’s talk Daily Burn

  1. megbek says:

    Yay, I’m so glad you’ve found a program you really enjoy! That’s 100% crucial to fitness success! I can imagine that the tabata workouts were insane – I don’t think I can do one of those without feeling sick to my stomach! I like that they aren’t geared toward women, that’s such a bonus for me (I don’t know why!). I have a streak of feminism in me, so maybe that’s it? Anyway, I’ve been seeing these pop up in the blog world a lot lately too and as much as I would love it, I just much prefer a gym atmosphere or just a run. That may change, but for now, I’m being stubborn and reluctant to try anything new. 🙂

    • Chelsea says:

      I don’t blame you at all for that! And to be honest, I love the site, but I don’t see it becoming my primary mode of exercise any time soon. My gym visits are too much of my social outings to give them up completely!

  2. Wow this sounds awesome!! I admire your dedication to it!!! it sounds really cool to track progress and stuff. unfortunately i really dont have room in my tiny studio to really get a workout on, but perhaps when I upgrade i’ll look into this program. it would be SO nice to be able to workout at home. my barre studio is only 2 blocks away, so thats what i consider my “home workout” as of now. beats the mile walk to my gym 🙂

    • Chelsea says:

      oh for sure! If my gym (or any kind of decent work-out facility) were within walking distance, I’m pretty sure that would just be the be-all-end-all 🙂 And I know what you mean about the space thing: I did the routine in my tiny office behind Mark, and he wasn’t allowed to back up from his computer desk. Ah, the sacrifices we make for love 😉

  3. really informative, useful post! thanks so much for sharing. i’m always up for free (or cheap) at-home workouts… i’ll have to give this a try! right now i am loving yogadownload.com and the Nike+ Training Club app.

    • Chelsea says:

      You’re welcome! Always like to do what I can to help 😉 I’ve never heard of yogadownload, but I’m also a big fan of the Nike+ Training Club, especially for strength training!

  4. […] I hit up yoga early on Saturday and managed to fit in one of my Daily Burn videos, which was not as tough as the first go-round, but still kicked my butt. Sunday was a four mile run and a few rounds through the first week […]

Leave a Reply

