The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

Getting Caught up on the Weekend!

on June 3, 2013

I feel like so much has happened since Friday when I was last on talking to you guys!

This past weekend was my momma’s birthday (that’s a picture from my wedding, no worries – we don’t go around getting freakishly dolled up for birthdays around these parts ;D ) and we had a GREAT time seeing her, getting to hang out for a bit on Saturday for her actual birthday, and then yesterday when we went out to a delicious breakfast together. I know your mom is pretty and awfully nice, but I just have to say – my mom is nicer and prettier. Only because she’s the nicest and prettiest woman in the world (it’s okay if youΒ want to secretly thinking that’s true about your mom too, lol). And I can’t wait to make another great year of family memories with her – happy late birthday, momma!

In between working and celebrating my mom’s birthday, another really cool thing happened – my student financial aid refund came through!

image

I love making friends, so that’s not an entirely true GIF, but seriously, isn’t it kind of a bummer reminder sometimes how much easier everything becomes when you have a little bit of cushion cash. I’m only set for one more semester in school, meaning this is one of the last time I’ll be getting any financial aid, so Mark and I have been extra on top of making sure that it gets spent in the best way possible. This go around? Paying off credit card debt, paying off backlog bills, and a new pair of running shoes (for me) and computer games (him). Next round – all the money is going to DISNEY!!!!

image

That’s right, folks! You read right! Probably the best thing to be decided on this weekend is the fact that the combined Brown and new Outlaw family (that would be Mark and I) are now planning on taking a trip to the World of Disney sometime in the middle of September! Not only is this amazing because, you know, I’m a complete and admitted product of the Disney Industry, so all that fake nostalgia and princess costumes still send my heart a-tizzy, but also because Aubrey is eight and she’s going for the first time and, man am I excited to see how excited she’s going to be! I don’t want to get too wrapped up in the trip yet, because September is still a ways off and anything can happen, but as for right now?

So that’s basically the run-down on the most important happenings around my neck of the woods this weekend! I suppose I should go ahead and check in with that whole fitness thing, seeing as how this is ostensibly a fitness blog, yes? Saturday was the first of June, and thus began my Summer of Shred, as I’m taking to calling it, and so far so good (she said, three days in, lol). I hit up yoga early on Saturday and managed to fit in one of my Daily Burn videos, which was not as tough as the first go-round, but still kicked my butt. Sunday was a four mile run and a few rounds through the first week circuit workout that Gina set out as part of the Summer Shape Up 2013! It’s my first time doing one of Gina’s Shape Ups, and I’m LOVING the workout format and her delicious recipe ideas, so if you’re really wanting to kick things in to gear this summer, clicking through to Gina and getting signed up for the Shape Up could be just the ticket you’re looking for!

The weather here finally knocked off that stupid rain, so I think today my sneaks and I are going to hit the actual streets (hopefully with camera in hand) to soak up this beautiful summer weather before work πŸ˜€

What is your weekend update? What do you do when you suddenly get that little bit of extra cash? Are you a Disney kid?

6 responses to “Getting Caught up on the Weekend!

  1. megbek says:

    What a beautiful picture of you and your mama! You guys totally look alike, too! Adorable x 1 million. Haha, I remember the days of student loan refunds. Ah the sweet relief of looking at an account full of money. πŸ™‚ Can I go back to school for that reason alone? Probably not the best choice, huh?
    Oh my goodness!! A Disney trip!!!!!!!!!!! How wonderfully exciting!!!!
    I’m super happy for you about that ^^ but I’m also totally excited by the new shoes. What kind are you going to get? I’m going to start shopping around in a month and can’t wait. I want to run longer runs now so that I can justify a new pair sooner. Haha totally obsessed.
    I absolutely love Disney and cannot wait to hear about your trip WHEN (not if!!) you go! Happy Monday lovely lady!

    • Chelsea says:

      So excited for all the good vibes towards the Disney trip, homegirl, thanks SO much! I haven’t been to Disney since I was in high school, and it’s quite literally my favorite place on the planet, so I’m so excited to go back there with Mark and the family! πŸ™‚
      Going back to school probably isn’t the best reason to go back to school, and Mark and I try our best to be responsible about the amount we take and how we spend it but, not going to lie, it’s one of the best days of every semester, when I see that extra money pop up in my bank account πŸ˜€ I don’t know about the shoes yet, I’m rocking some Nikes now, but I’ll probably look seriously at either some Brookes or some Mizunos, depending! I’ll take any recommendations you come across πŸ™‚

  2. Lesley says:

    Great pic of you and your mom. I love, love, that strawberry salad, making it tonight!

    • Chelsea says:

      Thanks for the compliment! That’s one of my favorite pictures ever πŸ™‚ Hope that strawberry salad is as absolutely delicious as it looks!

  3. Happy happy birthday to your mama! you two look gorgeous in that picture!! I just spent the day with my mom which is why ive been completely MIA today. yay for hanging out with moms!! and yay for disney!! that is going to be SUCH a fun trip! and btw i love the “summer of shred” thats an awesome name and congrats on killing over the last 3 days! thats great! have a great night!

    • Chelsea says:

      Glad you and your momma had a great weekend/Monday – I was wondering a bit where you might have disappeared to! But DOUBLE yay for hanging out with moms, and for having moms that are so damn attractive πŸ˜‰ lol.
      I thought the whole summer shred thing was a good name, but I’m pretty in to the whole alliteration thing, and figured maybe it’d be motivating? lol. So far, so good, but it’s only been three days!

Leave a Reply

