The Outlaw Life

running, reading, blogging, loving

WIAW #3

on June 19, 2013

Oh, man! It’s been a crazy last couple of days, with my niece Aubrey in town. I’m watching her this week while my mom and dad are at work, and it’s made for some days that, to many of you, seem perfectly normal – up at around 6:00 am, for starters! I know, I know, poor me, right? πŸ˜‰ But let me just say that, for me, it’s definitely been a bit of an adjustment! Let’s see a sample of what’s been getting me through it, shall we?

20130617_074055

So, I found this thing. And you all probably know about this thing. It’s called Tone it Up and theΒ AMAZINGΒ trainers Karena and Katrina. And I’m head-over-heels with the bombshell spell, a quick morning pick-me-up that is all about revving metabolism, balancing digestive enzymes, and putting that little bit of extra pep in the step. Not to mention, it’s primary ingredient is pineapple juice. And I’ll follow anything that encourages me to drink pineapple juice first thing in the morning πŸ˜€

20130617_101410

20130616_084149

Honey nut cheerio, 1/2 a cup of whole milk, and a banana

Gina’s breakfast cookie dough cereal with almost a whole container of strawberries

Breakfast lately has been all about the cereal! Because it’s been hot lately, I just can’t seem to get enough of that cold, milk-and-crunch combo! Not to mention all the best cereal-topping fruits are in season right now (by which I mean strawberries. because duh, πŸ˜‰ )

20130617_144139

Diced steak and two scrambled eggs. And Tobasco, which you can’t see, but trust me. It was all up in them eggs.Β 

Lunches have been a bit improptu this week because I’ve been making due with what healthy stuff I can pull together out of their pantry! Don’t get me wrong, they have all the healthy bases covered – chicken, fish, oatmeal, eggs, etc. – but it’s still always tough not being in your own kitchen. Plus, I’ve been making lunches for Aubrey and she’s way more in to the lunchable and the pizza then she is the spinach wraps or the cinnamon-banana oatmeal!

20130617_191604

Cajun-garlic chicken with bell pepper/black olive pearled Israeli couscous

Mark and I went all kinds of Mediterranean on dinner this week, hitting up the couscous multiple times, along with our attempts at gyros at home (which went so badly and so poorly they weren’t picture or eaten, and instead we had the HyVee salad bar that night, lol), and more hummus/chicken/olive combos than I can count! I don’t know what it is, something about summer, maybe, or the fact we bought a jar of kalamata olives the size of a baby the last time we were at Costco. Whatever it is, I’m not complaining!

I don’t actually have any pictures of my desserts or snacks because they’ve all been incredibly boring! Snacks are either carrots and hummus (again with the hummus, oy vey) or an apple with peanut butter. Dessert is either a homemade hot-fudge larabar (subbing almonds in the recipe) or fruit snacks with a couple dark chocolate chips. Like I said – boring!

It’s been fun mixing it up this week, but I have to say – I’m looking forward at being back to my personal stomping grounds next week. And, as always, a HUGE thanks to Jenn @ Peas and Crayons for hosting! πŸ™‚

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this week? Summer food obsessions?Β 

4 responses to “WIAW #3

  1. megbek says:

    Yikes – I don’t even get up at 6 am so I feel your pain. πŸ™‚
    That juice does look good and definitely a great way to start the day.
    I love that you have so many recipes in here – you are making all your food and it looks like it’s all really good – tasty and healthy! That’s a trifecta of perfection if you ask me. Nothing beats a home cooked meal that you know has good stuff in it. That Israeli cous cous is the most amazing thing ever (I eat it at Jason’s Deli all the time) and I had no idea it even existed until a few months ago. Yum-E.
    My boyfriend has that same jar of kalamata olives in his house. Oh Costo, must you torture me so?
    So far the best thing I’ve eaten this week has been my homemade sweet potato hash. It’s my favorite thing in the world and I could eat it all day errry’day! ❀ have a great day, early riser!

    • Chelsea says:

      Oooh, tell me tell me! I want to know what goes in to said delicious hash! I love that you call them recipes – I never would have thought of them that way! I just describe the food I’m eating and the food I find that other people make that sounds yummy πŸ™‚ I didn’t know Jason’s had couscous – I’ll have to go looking for it way closer next time. Jason’s is my absolute favorite!

  2. my summer food obsession is ALSO Mediterranean food! i’ve been going nuts on the hummus and tabouli salads lately. soo good πŸ™‚ that chicken and couscous looks so yummy! that so fun you get to hang out with aubrey this week, sorry about the 6am wake up calls though!! if you’re not used it, those can be ROUGH πŸ™‚

    • Chelsea says:

      I know! Just a little bit ago Mark asked me what I was going to do when I have to work a real early-ever-day job. My response was “put my big girl panties on”, mostly because he hates that word, but also because I know they get easier as you do them, in a way – all I know right now is that I’m pretty darn tired!

Leave a Reply

